Skip to content

Spring is in the air…

March 3, 2014

…cliched, but true! Thought I’d best put summat online cos its been a while. March and I’m putting together the 9th issue of the mag, which looks set to be the best yet – better even than 8, which was rather good. Lot of new names in, some who are well known on the poetry circuit, some who are not. I’m feeling positive about it, which is nice.

I think my Return To Work bonus runs out at the end of the month. that’s the Benefit I’ve been on since going self employed last March. What I didn’t realise then, and which came as a bit of a shock when I did find out, was that the £40 this paid would be my only regular income…I didn’t qualify for working tax credits! Oh well…The business side of things has never been my strong point, but I am trying to balance it out. I’ve got a good thing going and I need to find ways to keep it going. I’m dreading having to sign on, though I’ll do it if I have to.

The magazine and the night have become an important part of my life, and I know that other people feel the same. And that’s been hard – accepting help form people. I’ll pretty much do as much as I can for you and not usually ask for anything in return. Which isn’t the way to run a business…People are very kind and it humbles me to know that they love what I’m doing. Not that everyone does, but they really don’t matter. I’ve got a lot of good friends and people wanting to be involved and that’s what counts.

The next magazine will be out at the end of April, and then sometime late Spring comes volume 2 of the Dark Matter pamphlets, with Julie Hogg and Jon Glasper being the featured poets. That’s all in the bag, and I just need to get the next mag out of the way so I can start preparing for the launch.

I can feel my focus drifting now, so I’m going to stop. I may blog again soon, who knows?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

